#bucketlist17 – first item ticked!

As part of my #bucketlist17, yesterday I ticked off my first item.

My friend (who is sharing some of the bucket list journey with me) had “go horse riding” on her list.  Horse riding is something I did when I was young whenever I had the chance and have only managed to go a handful of times as an adult.  My friend, however, had “never even touched a horse!”.

So this was our first item to tackle and it was perfect – a two-hour ride in the state forest about 80km outside of Melbourne with the chance to really let the horses have a bit of a run.  The novice LOVED it, once she got over her initial nerves.

 

2017-02-05_13.06.54.jpg

Just a few shots from our ride – Ryders Horse Riding, Labertouche

 

It was a perfect way to kick off the list for me – I hadn’t realised how much I missed riding until now, and somehow I think it will be something that I will start doing more often.

This ride was through Ryders Horse Riding in Labertouche.  Our guides were lovely and they took the time to help the first-timers feel more relaxed and to allow the more experienced riders to have a bit more adventurous fun.

AND as an added bonus, we finished it off with a platter for lunch on the way home that filled the spot (and addressed another item from my list “eat out more often!”).

 

20170205_122533.png

Tasting Board at Wheelers Hill Hotel

 

2 thoughts on “#bucketlist17 – first item ticked!

  1. Great blog and lovely to see horse riding was on your bucket list! It can really give you a boost when you go out for a ride or simply just spend time with horses. Although 2 hours in the saddle if you haven’t ridden for a while must have ached a bit the next day!

Leave a comment